A Positive Outlook: Professor Hrvoje Jasak

Can you believe Professor Jasak[https://www.lsc.phy.cam.ac.uk/staff/dr-hrvoje-jasak] is a professor and researcher at the same University of Cambridge that Dr. Stephen Hawking, famous theoretical physicist, researched and taught at. Cambridge has a 21% acceptance rate.

I am excited because he has been a LinkedIn contact of mine for more than a year. In the last couple months, he contacted me and offered to supervise my OpenFOAM learning. He said he would share his lectures from University of Cambridge too.

I told him my goals, my desires, and that I needed to complete them before I accept his offer. He didn’t say no. I need to complete MIT differential equations series, MIT advanced fluid mechanics from MIT mechanical engineering graduate school, and MIT analysis and transport from MIT chemical engineering graduate program. I also need to complete my self study of Fox and McDonald’s introduction to fluid dynamics. Then, I plan to self study a book on Finite Volume Method, a book on computational fluid dynamics, and two books on turbulence. Then, I might pay for an OpenFOAM introductory course from OpenFOAM foundation or ESI. I also need to successfully draft my waterjet propulsion system. After all that, I said I will ask for his supervision.

He didn’t say no. Instead, he looked at my profile. I have grand plans, but I don’t want to waste the opportunity to learn from Dr. Jasak. I want to be an intelligent and educated student and well prepared. If I do, my chances of successfully modeling the waterjet propulsion system will be greater. I share my successes on LinkedIn because success are more fun when shared and celebrated, but I also want Dr. Jasak to know that I am working my goals. He is a brilliant engineer, CFD expert, and mathematician. He is a world class researcher in CFD. I am lucky he offered to supervise me.

Leave a comment